Amazon, e tu?

When I was home in July, I found out a friend’s father had written a novel and had it published. In that he wrote a book in the genre that I like, and that it’s nice to support your local author, I went on to Amazon and bought the e-book. Thirty one pages in and it was plain to see that there was a printing snafu. Personal information, gibberish, other book idea layouts, filled the rest of the book.

The friend has been notified, and I asked Amazon for a refund, which the promptly credited back to my credit card.

But, because I thought they should pull the book from their site until the issues were resolved, I wrote a letter to the customer service department.

And this is their response.

Hello,

I’m sorry to know about the inconvenience caused to you with the mentioned kindle book.

I’d also like to thank you for bring this issue on our attention.

I’ve forwarded this to our kindle department for further consideration so that the problems with the books get resolve as soon as possible.

I’ve also checked the order details for the book and found that the refund has already issued to you for the book.

If you have further query, please feel free to write back to us by clicking on the link below: {removed}

You can also reach us by chat or phone directly and toll free from many countries by visiting our Kindle Support pages at: {removed}

Contacting us through the website allows you to verify security before a call is placed and ensures we have your account information ready when we call you. If your country isn’t listed or you’re unable to take advantage of the Contact Us feature, you can call us directly at {removed} (if you’re calling from outside the U.S.).

Your patience and understanding is highly appreciated in this matter.

We hope to see you again soon.

Thank you for your inquiry. Did I solve your problem?

It’s obvious that the second half of the letter is a standard template, written by an “English Is My First Language” someone with at least an 8th grade education.  The first half of the letter, not so much.

Do corporations not care? I get the “outsourcing to other countries to save money” philosophy, but doesn’t Amazon care enough about their English-speaking patrons to hire an editor to handle inquiries written in English? Do other language inquiries get the same treatment?

This entry was posted in Here's Your Sign. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

