Let the Adventure Begin

Sometime last century, I took a Black and White photography class offered at my high school. I borrowed a camera from a friend, and then learned how to develop the pictures I took in a dark room with chemicals, white trays and fancy lights. It was so long ago, I do not even remember who the instructor was. Nor do I even remember attending a class. I remember “things” about photography, but I don’t remember being taught. Things like aperture, shutter speed, f-stops, exposure and acronyms like SLR and ISO.

My first camera was a Minolta X700. It was similar to the camera I had borrowed from my friend. I bought it a few years after I graduated high school.

I don’t remember what broke on it, but I needed to buy a new camera and switched from the Minolta to the Canon ELAN II. It was hard for me to switch from film to digital as I didn’t thing digital produced the same quality of photo. And it didn’t, in the beginning. Eventually the pixels on the digital were equivalent to film if not better, and I switched from film to digital, purchasing a Canon Rebel XT, mostly because my ELAN lenses could be used.

I’ve always gotten compliments on my photos, but I felt that if I took a thousand pictures, some of them are bound to be good. Digital cameras make that easy. With a memory card than can hold 500 pictures, I can shoot one flower 100 different ways, and one of them is bound to be stunning. The other 99 I can just delete. Plus, with all the digital photography software that is available, I can crop, color, modify this one picture a million different ways, elevating it to super stunning.

I wanted to learn how to use my camera better and take better photos. Several of my friends own the same (or very similar) camera and we talked about taking a class but we could not coordinate our schedules to make it work. Another friend was telling me of a Certificate of Photography offered at the local college. In looking at the required courses I realized that knowing how to work my camera better wasn’t all there was to photography. Lighting and style were important. And if I wanted to make some money in photography, it would be good to know marketing, publication, and creating a professional portfolio.

For this semester, I enrolled in the Basic Photography – Black and White class. Class started off good, until I had to dig out the Canon ELAN II from where every I had retired it.

How quickly we forget! I can’t remember where the battery goes. I can’t remember how to load the film. I can’t remember what all the dials and buttons do. I can’t remember where the manual is. I DO remember how to take a picture though, so once I remember all I forgot, I’ll be ready for class!

My first assignment is

Geometric patterns, Geometric shapes, Circles, Curves

This entry was posted in Picture This. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Let the Adventure Begin

  1. Pingback: Shoot Me « Vita Senza Limiti

Leave a Reply

