Stuck in the Mud

I don’t know. For a while there, I had no trouble writing every day. Something seemed interesting enough each day to write about. Lately, I find myself unable to string a few sentences together, let alone type something that is fun to read.

It’s not like I’ve been sitting around doing nothing. Granted, money is not flowing as it used to, but I’ve been broke before and learned how to have cheap fun. I’ve managed to wean myself off a CNN and spend more time in the real world. I have noticed that some of the blogs I follow are suffering along with the same writer’s block. I do have about 8 different posts started, but each one reads like finger nails on a chalk board and have been abandoned until the juices flow again.

It is possible that I have traded one addiction (CNN) for another (Facebook). I have to admit though that reconnecting with childhood friends, reading up on family goings on, viewing posted photos, and enjoying witty status updates has been fun.

The whole “Social Networking” thing is strange. I do not consider sitting alone, hunched in front of a computer, looking at posted pictures, reading detailed profiles and scanning for lost friends the dictionary ideal of either “Social” or “Networking”. But, whatever, it is free.

I started with a Linked In account, but deleted it after months of wondering what it actually provided. Other than an ever-growing list of people I knew at one time or another. I never “got” the Myspace network. I created my own page to see what all the fuss was about but I never really did get the hang of it. I managed a page for a former friend but her network of friends seemed to be filled with people wanting to explore their hedonistic tendencies in semi anonymity.

I launched a Facebook page after reading a review in the NY Times. It seemed to be geared for a more mature audience. On the other hand, it could just be that those I’ve “friended” are more mature than the community I was seeing on myspace. In the way that all social networks (and shampoo commercials) work, I invited two friends who invited two friends, and so on and so on, creating my own mini universe that interlinks with many of the other mini universes out there.

Being so far from home, it’s nice to see what my family members are up to. Pictures of gatherings are posted and I can see what several generations of family are doing in their spare time. Linking up with hometown friends has also been fun. Everything is so different, yet so much the same, I forget it’s been many years since high school. People scattered all over the globe also bring a different perspective and embellish on the “it’s a small world” way of thinking. I could do without all the applications though. 

I checked out some of the Facebook statistics. Based on the latest, I AM their demographic. And just another statistic.

  • More than 150 million active users (I am one!)
  • More than half of Facebook users are outside of college (WAY outside of college)
  • The fastest growing demographic is those 30 years old and older (WAY older than 30)
  • Average user has 100 friends on the site (137 and counting!)
  • More than 3 billion minutes are spent on Facebook each day (worldwide) (okay, that’s not a stat to be proud of, unless we now spend 3 billion less minutes watching TV)
  • More than 800 million photos uploaded to the site each month (the blurry, over and under exposed should be removed. As well as those tiny little ones that you can’t see anything in)
  • More than 5 million videos uploaded each month (I get a kick out of these!)
  • More than 20 million pieces of content (web links, news stories, blog posts, notes, photos, etc.) shared each month (information overload!)
  • More than 2 million events created each month (Party, anyone?
  • More than 20 million active user groups exist on the site (who create 2 million events each month)
  • More than 70% of Facebook users are outside the United States (now that I find amazing)

I guess it could be reasoned that when it’s late, in the dark, cold hours, it’s nice to network socially from the comfort of your own warm, brightly lit office, even if you’re all alone, hunched over a computer…At least it’s free!

This entry was posted in The World According to Me. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

