Lost, No More

I headed out of town again this weekend. This time the destination was Hummingbird Haven, home to multitudes of hummingbirds, girls’ weekends, wild flowers and puppies. This was more of a working weekend, helping to rejuvenate the 10′ x 25′ porch that has been used for many the card game, dinner party, pie storage and slumber party. First up was removing all the old screening. Some of it was okay, just old, but most of it was weathered to the point of dust. With the screens and trim removed, it was easier to sand the deck. Using a vibrating floor sander, the top layers of paint were scratched. Cleaned with a leaf blower, it was time for the first coat of primer that was tinted to a lovely shade of Pepto Bismol Pink.

Or, as the cabin was briefly known, Barbie’s Hummingbird haven.

Letting that dry over night, I grabbed my camera and headed out to the breakfast slash happy hour patio for some bird watching and whom do I see but my old friend, the Baltimore Oriole!

“No way, Jose!” I say. Fortunately, hanging on the wall in the hallway are two charts depicting the flora and fauna of the region, and right there, in black and white and orange is my little bird. Scanning down, the name is revealed!

It is a Black Headed Grosbeak! Of course! The old Black Headed Grosbeak! Its name was there all along, right on the tip of our tongues!

I snapped a few more pictures, none involving the deck!

This entry was posted in Life in the Fast Lane, My Menagerie, Una Giornata di Lavoro and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Lost, No More

  1. Laura says:

    I was going to guess that. Ha! No way. Not a clue. I’ll bet you were happy that bird chart was there. 🙂 Sounds like a marvelous weekend.

Leave a Reply

