Back to the Consulate!

I hope this is it. It has been a long, expensive process toward my dual citizenship goal! With the simultaneous arrival of the apostile from Connecticut and the translations from Irvine in Tuesday’s mail delivery, I now hope that I have dotted every “i” and crossed every “t”.

To recap, I needed

  • Maternal grandfather’s birth certificate from Italy
  • Maternal grandfather’s naturalization paperwork
  • Maternal grandfather’s death certificate
  • Maternal grandmother’s birth certificate
  • Maternal grandmother’s death certificate
  • Maternal grandparents’ marriage certificate
  • Mother’s birth certificate
  • Mother’s 1st marriage certificate
  • Mother’s 1st marriage divorce decree
  • Father’s birth certificate
  • Father’s death certificate
  • Parents’ marriage certificate
  • My birth certificate

Then any document NOT from Italy needed an apostile

  • Maternal grandfather’s death certificate
  • Maternal grandmother’s birth certificate
  • Maternal grandmother’s death certificate
  • Maternal grandparents’ marriage certificate
  • Mother’s birth certificate
  • Mother’s 1st marriage certificate
  • Mother’s 1st marriage divorce decree
  • Father’s birth certificate
  • Father’s death certificate
  • Parents’ marriage certificate
  • My birth certificate

Then any bloodline document NOT from Italy needed a translation

  • Maternal grandfather’s death certificate
  • Maternal grandparents marriage certificate
  • Mother’s birth certificate
  • Mother’s 1st marriage certificate
  • Mother’s 1st marriage divorce decree
  • Parents’ marriage certificate
  • My birth certificate

The initial research to get my grandfather’s birth certificate was $700. Certified birth, marriage and death certificate copies (10) cost $5-10. Current copy of Divorce decree was $25. Apostiles (11) cost $25 each, translations (7) $50.

Ouch. I hope this turns out to be one of those “priceless” commercials!

My appointment is for April 29th, at 9:15!

What colors would look good in my villa? 😉

This entry was posted in Jure Sanguinis and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Back to the Consulate!

  1. Karen says:

    and I hope so too! 🙂

  2. Kristin says:

    I’m liking the reds 😉
    congrats on getting this far…and much luck to you on the 29th 🙂

  3. Laura says:

    Fingers crossed.

    Dusty, old colors.

  4. Mikki says:

    Karen
    It has been a long process! I’m glad I blogged about it, because no one would believe it!

    Kristin
    The reds, eh? How about Tuscan gold? Hopefully you can come out and paint a wall or two… 🙂

    Laura
    If this house is any indication, the villa will have dust aplenty!

Leave a Reply

