The Construction Zone

I have been living in a construction zone for most of my homeownership life. I am tired of living in a construction zone. “Construction Gray” is just as boring as “Renter’s Beige”.

I want to finish. I want to live in a big girl house.

Six rooms in my house and none of them is 100% complete. Sure, most are 90% complete, but there is no room I can sit in complete comfort knowing that the room is DONE. The latest standstill was trying to figure out a way to mud the coved ceilings in my living room. I contemplated the problem for so long, I felt I would have been better to just rip the coving off and put squared walls up. My first attempt at mudding was an ugly mess.

I chose to contemplate more. While working on a client’s home who had coved ceilings needing to be retextured, I discovered the “Pool Trowel”. It is similar to the trowels used to float concrete, but it is rounded on both ends. The width of the tool fit the curve of the cove perfectly, and for the first time in 5 years, I felt I could attempt the completion of the living room.

I shoved all my furniture into one corner on one side of the room. There was not much I could do with it. It was going to get dusty, but the glass and wrought iron could be cleaned, and the fabric on the chairs will be recovered anyhow. I took all my wall hangings down, moved them into a closet and got to work.

I set up my drop cloths and scaffolding, mixed my mud and added the first layer of mud to the joints, screw holes and coved ceilings. It looked great! I was still confused about the corners where the two different angles of the coving met. No trowel would fit there. It looks like I’ll add the mud with my hand, then smooth it out with a sponge or cloth. Sanding it down after it dried was problematic also. My palm sander doesn’t do corners. I did as much as I could by machine, then did the rest by hand.

The second coat was applied. Looks even better! So good I’m starting to think “color schemes”!

This entry was posted in On the Home Front. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Construction Zone

  1. Earla says:

    I’ll be looking forward to seeing the finished product! 🙂

  2. Karen says:

    AMEN. Get ‘er dun – will ya?

  3. Laura says:

    Woohoo! Can’t wait to see it, Mikki. 🙂

Leave a Reply

