Unexpected Visitors

The weekend arrived and it was a sunny day, but very windy! It hovered around 60 degrees for much of the day. I figured I’d help Kelly out with some of her chores. Seems the best way for me to help would have been to stay out of the way!

In the time it took me to muck one stall, she had 4 done. I wore much of the hay on my shirt when feeding the horses, and managed to splash my shoes and pants every time I was changing out the water! Not to be viewed as completely incompetent, I did fix a toilet, a fence and a gutter during my stay!

The afternoon brought Kelly’s two nephews on their way home to North Carolina from a job in Tampa. The older nephew I hadn’t seen for some time and wouldn’t have recognized him if I tripped over him. The younger I had seen on one of my visits home. They both work for a company inspecting cell phone towers, and regaled us with tales of climbing high in the air on windy days, encountering baby (and momma!)owls, and traveling with 100s of lbs of luggage and tools. There were even some pictures from job “sites” all around the States.

Wanting to inspect the farm after two days of rain, Kelly fired up the John Deere gator and we went for a different kind of ride. Thankfully, the soil there isn’t the concrete like clay we have here in California, but still, there were mushy spots where the water had yet to drain. The real pond was twice the size it had been the day before the rains, and we encountered two new ponds in two other low-lying areas!

Part way through the ride, Kelly noticed a cow nudging a newborn calf. The calf was still wet from the birth, and could not have been more than 10 minutes old! We stopped a distance away to witness the first steps. I was sure glad I had my camera.

With the zoom lens!

This entry was posted in Life in the Fast Lane and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Unexpected Visitors

  1. Laura says:

    Looks like you had a marvelous time, gf. It always amazes me how bovines, equines, etc. get up and start walking around minutes after birth.

  2. Mikki says:

    I got to witness this several times in the short time I was there! After the birth, the mother would tuck the calf behind a tree, or along the fence line while she grazed around. When the calf was ready, it would get up, find its mom and join the herd!

Leave a Reply

