Reading is Fundamental

I usually spend the end of the year tabulating, calculating, reporting and budgeting my life into some semblance of order. That being as exciting as watching snails race, my mind went off on a tangent somewhere between reporting and budgeting.

“I wonder,” thinking to myself, “how much money do I spend on books?” Which segued into “How many books have I read in my life?”. A thoughtful question, but an impossible to know answer.

Last year, while vacationing in Sicily, I decided I was going to keep track of the books I read. I started keeping track because more than once I bought a book I already owed. Or bought a book I had already read. Now, as I finish reading a book, I add it to my blog under the page marked “Philobiblism”.

During my end of year wrap up, it was nice to see I had read almost 40 books in 2007 and have already finished one for 2008. I noticed though, that there were at least 20 books on my shelves that were waiting to be read, plus another 15 or so e-books waiting patiently on my palm pilot.

Even though I consider book money well spent, I’m going to hold off on buying anything new this year and read what I already own.

This entry was posted in Words to Live By. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Reading is Fundamental

  1. jebs says:

    I can see how that would happen. I was looking through a pile of books I had the other day and thought that I hadn’t read a couple of them, until I checked the synopsis for the book and realized that yes, I had indeed finished them some time ago. I like the idea of keeping a list of the books read. I may have to start my own list. (I’m quite sure however that I haven’t read as many books as you – with the 2 kids – it’s hard to take too much time for reading (unless it’s the Junie B. Jones books to read with Sydney).

  2. Mikki says:

    Even reading the book synopsis does me no good! Sometimes, I get 2/3 to 3/4 of the way through a book THEN I remember I’ve already read it!

  3. Laura says:

    Oh, no, I’ve never, ever bought a bookI already had. LOL

    I’ve kept lists of books read periodically throughout my life. The first back when I was in high school. Another list happened for a couple of years in the 1990s, and another started in 2005, as part of my blog. If you want to see my more recent lists of books read, they’re here: http://blog.fiberdreams.com/reading

  4. Mikki says:

    Ha! I think I could pay off my mortgage with the money I spent on duplicate book purchases!

    the list in your blog is what gave me the idea…

Leave a Reply

