The Harbor Seals

It was a beautiful Sunday in sunny, Southern California, and I was eating my breakfast thinking of my day.

Breakfast lasted longer. My Christmas cards were done, my Christmas shopping was done, my Christmas parties were done. I needed to do some bookkeeping but figured it could wait.

Reading CNN.com while eating my breakfast and pondering my uneventful life, I saw another one of those humans vs nature stories I am so fond of. Of course, I always root for the underdog. In this case, the underdog was the Harbor Seal. These are the smaller, cuter spotted cousins of the California Sea Lion, and it seems, they take over La Jolla Cove. The cove, according to their website, is the most photographed section of the California coast.

La Jolla is an affluent section of San Diego and the current controversy involves the protection of the seals during pupping season. Should we, shouldn’t we? Government involvement? Rules, laws, fines?

With breakfast done and not much else on my plate, so to speak, I decided to head down to La Jolla and check it out. Nothing like information to make an informed opinion! It’s approximately an hour and a half away, and with the sun shining, the top down and the rest of civilization in the malls, it was a wonderful drive. The mountains in the distance were visible, with snow capped peaks. The ocean to the other side was clear and expansive.

I arrived in La Jolla Cove, found a parking spot (a small miracle), grabbed my camera and headed towards the water.

sealslounging.jpg wetseals.jpg happyseal.jpg
(click photo to view larger)

I thought I would find a HUGE beach covered with barking, smelly, rotund sea mammals. Instead, La Jolla Cove turned out to be this tiny inlet of land. On a crowded day, you could probably fit 300 people on it, laying towel to towel. The seals were basking on a rock outcrop some 80 yards from the shoreline. Not a peep out of them.

Quietly snoozing in the (almost) winter sunshine, it seemed like nothing more than the spray of a little cold, salty water disturbed their sleep. With pupping season running February through May, how much are we really interested in using this small splotch of land during that time?

This entry was posted in Life in the Fast Lane and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Harbor Seals

  1. Laura says:

    It sounds like you had a lovely day. The seals were there first. They only take a few later winter months to deal with their pups. I say let ’em be. But then, I do tend toward tree hugging.

  2. Mikki says:

    My exact thoughts!

    One, the beach isn’t even good enough for “walking on”. It’s a tiny cresent shaped area. Snorklers, scuba divers and others can certainly launch from the other side.

    Two, The man made jetty gives a perfect viewing area where both human and animal can be satisfied.

    Three, ITS WINTER TIME! Even in So Cal where “winter” is probably an overstatement, it’s still not the “lay on the beach half dressed” kind of place!

    Tree Hugger, eh? We used to call those peeps “earthy crunchers”!

  3. Karen says:

    Holy moley… is that poor seal preggo? Just laying there on the beach? good heavens… I feel like that!

  4. Mikki says:

    It is possible she’s pregnant. It is possible she’s just fat. It is also possible that she is a he. Any way you look at it they are happy!

  5. Kristin says:

    yeah, so if you went to La Jolla, were you really too busy to stop by and say hi??? 🙂 hopefully you gave the seals a big hello from me!

Leave a Reply

