Prescription TV

Sometimes I have a hard time sleeping. I do not know why, as the work I do usually has me pretty exhausted by 9 pm. If I had to guess, I would say the trouble stems from falling deeply into sleep on the couch, then waking up stiff and cold but unable to muster the energy to go to my bed. I just lie there semi awake, and watch CNN.

Late night (or early morning) TV is never the most informative, but lately I’ve noticed that many of the commercials on at that time are prescription drug related.

I have to ask myself, “Since when do people get their medication advice from an ad on TV?” Who in their right mind goes to the doctor and tells THEM what drugs they want? I’d think twice about taking a drug who’s side effect warnings are almost as long as the commercial itself! Some of the side effects sound even worse than the original complaint.

The ads also make some of the diseases “user friendly”, by giving them catchy acronyms to remember them by; PAD – peripheral artery disease, RLS – restless leg syndrome, ED – erectile dysfunction, GERD – Gastroesophageal Reflux Disease, better known as acid reflux. There are ads drugs to help cure indigestion, osteoporosis, insomnia.

Insomnia? Hey, I have that! Those might be nice if the side effects did not include unpleasant taste, headache, drowsiness and dizziness, and if I wasn’t warned about some risk of dependency

And I’ve got a cure for indigestion. Quit eating all that crap!

This entry was posted in The World According to Me. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Prescription TV

  1. Antony says:

    In the UK I think it is still illegal for drug companies to advertise their prescription drugs on tv. – I wonder how much longer that will last. It did strike me as odd when I moved here there we could ask the doctor for meds, almost putting us in charge (nice theory) of meds we can get – like you say shouldn’t the doctor with years of training and is hopefully well qualified, make those decisions?

    It was illegal for ambulance chasers to advertise on tv too. not anymore…

    Happy days

Leave a Reply

