In Goes the Towel

That’s it! I’m done! I have given up on being a fish mother.

Yesterday morning, I feed my fish and all are present and counted for.

Last night, I hear a squirmish outside my window. I run outside and find Thys has treed an opossum. You know, those things that look like HUGE FREAKING RATS?

I thought nothing of it, except to bring the dog in so she wouldn’t get bitten by that damn ugly, flea carrying, oversized rat.

This morning when I went out to the pond, it looked like a bomb went off in it! Plants all over the outside of the pond, otter capsized, fountain underwater.

I didn’t have time to wait to see if the fish came to the surface when I fed them, so I tossed in some food, then left for work.

When I came back, all the food was floating on the top. I drained the pond, and

NO FREAKING FISH!

Time for piranha.

This entry was posted in My Menagerie and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to In Goes the Towel

  1. Laura says:

    Oh man. Bummer about the fish.

    I like oppossums. I think they’re rather cute. But then, I had hooded rats as a kid. I thought they were pretty cute, too. LOL

  2. Mikki says:

    Not one to take defeat gracefully, I have spent the morning investigating pond protection.

    My favorite is the floating alligator head with reflective eyes. For $69. http://www.pestproducts.com/birdx/BXgatorguard.htm

    What I WILL use though is another suggestion which is so simple I feel like an idiot for not thinking of it sooner.

    I will put sections of black PVC piping in the pond for “fish caves” .

    They come in diameters of 4″. Should be PERFECT!

    I have to find another store though to buy my fish. I am too embarrassed to go back to the other one…

  3. Laura says:

    I’ll keep my fingers crossed, Mikki.

Leave a Reply

