Ladies Tea Party

Seven or eight years ago, I helped out a friend at the family’s yearly yard sale. I’ve helped out every year since. Sometimes twice a year.

But at that particular yard sale, I purchased a set of cups and “saucers” that I thought would be perfect for a tea party.

teacup2.jpg teacup.jpg

I put them up in my cabinets, and promptly forgot about them.

Every once in a while, when cleaning out the cabinets, I would find the glassware tucked away on the top shelf. I would stick them in the dishwasher to clean all the dust off of them, then put them back.

And promptly forget about them.

When I decided to redo the kitchen cabinets a few weeks back, I once again found them. I put them in the dishwasher to clean all the dust off of them, but this time, I had an idea.

A tea party!

Okay, it was not a new idea, but now seemed like the perfect time to have it.

To make sure my long anticipated, first ever tea party was a smashing success, I went online to investigate what, other than tea, a tea party consisted of. Scones, muffins, sandwiches, dessert.

I think I could handle that!

The store I found had all I needed. Tea pots, teabag caddies, sugar tongs, scone mix and silver spoons. Elsewhere on the WWW I found recipes for tea sandwiches. The Ham and Apricot Preserve and the Crabby Apple salad recipes from the book “The Jasmine Moon Murder”, by Laura Childs were added.

As with most May days in SoCal, the weather was beautiful. Slightly overcast during the morning, the sun arrived along with my guests.

We sipped tea, ate lunch, and chatted the afternoon away, as Ladies at a Ladies Tea should do!

I cannot wait for the next one!

A few photos… (click on the photo to enlarge)

Ms Audry –> msaudry.jpg

Ms Ellen (l), Ms Kathy (r) –> msellenmskathy.jpg

Ms Jane (l), Ms Earla (r) –>msjanemsearla.jpg

Ms Kendra –>mskendra.jpg

Ms Linda–>mslinda.jpg

Ms Suzanne (l), Ms Laura (c), Ms Nita (r)–>mssuzannemslauramsnita.jpg

Mistress Sydney–>mssydney.jpg

To make the day special, Ms Kathy and Ms Audry were the “Happy Birthday Girls”!–>

birthdaygirlsbetter.jpg

This entry was posted in Life in the Fast Lane. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Ladies Tea Party

  1. Karen says:

    Sorry I missed it. Looks like it was a great time!

  2. Laura says:

    Had a marvelous time on Saturday, gf. Thank you so much for having the tea party. 🙂

  3. Laura says:

    P.S. I was telling Kathy that she should sell her bracelets on Etsy (www.etsy.com). It’s a perfect place to sell hand-made goods. She’ll fit in perfectly! 🙂

  4. Carrie says:

    I’m sorry I missed the tea party too! Thanks for posting pictures Mik. Hope I can make the next one!

  5. Anonymous says:

    Wow looks like fun!! Sorry I missed it, but you know the social butterfly I am, always gone!! tee hee!

  6. Terry Snodgrass says:

    Mikki:
    So glad you had such fun and soooo sorry I missed it! Hope to see U next time! Loved the pics!

  7. Carol Kulok says:

    How sorry I am that I missed such a wonderful time. As usual Mikki, everything appeared to be first class. Glad it was a great success.

  8. Kendra says:

    Mikki, I had a great time at your Tea Party! Thanks for the photos and the stories!

  9. Lisa says:

    How wonderful Ms Mikki. I hope to make the next one.

  10. Judy P says:

    Looks like you had a great time – Sorry I couldn’t come. Hopefully will see you next time.

  11. Clifford says:

    This sounds like a rather smashing success! But I didn’t see any photos of your K9? Was she not able to make it?

  12. Mikki says:

    I had a blast, and have already started planning the next party. It probably won’t be a Ladies Tea, as the gents expressed disappointment at missing a party!

    Clifford, fat dog was there. No idea why there are no photos! Probably because she was mostly foraging under the tables!

Leave a Reply

