Little By Little

As if aches, pains, wrinkles and some gray strands of hair aren’t enough to indicate “old age”, I am now losing my teeth.

Okay, more like tooth.

I hate “teeth things”. I am not fond of pain, and to me, teeth pain is the worst. Maybe because they are so close to the brain? I do not know. All I know is that the process I go through to gear myself up for a simple cleaning is intricate.

As is customary for me, when my dentist found an “issue” with the last molar on the lower right side of my mouth, I ignored it.

Showing on an xray during an annual visit 5 or 6 years ago was “something”. It was hard to tell what it was, so I ignored it. The tooth had already had not one, but two root canals (different dentist) and two crowns.

My previous dentist had done a root canal and put a crown on. A few days later, I was in pain. Kind of hard to explain, when no roots where supposed to be there to transmit the pain.

Back in the chair, she “popped” off the crown and did another root canal. then put the (or a) crown back on.

I switched dentists after that.

Through the years, during each year’s xrays we watched the “something” develop into a fracture. The two halves of my molar were slowly separating under the crown.

Well that’s gross, but as long as I wasn’t feeling any pain, who cared?

I did, but only when I could tell that there was an infection inside the fracture and under the crown. And when noticed the tooth wiggled around inside the socket.

I might not like pain, but I’m not stupid either.

Last week I went in for a consult.

Option One, we pull the tooth. (Okay, there is no “we” involved.) In the hole left by the vacated tooth, my dentist would stitch in some bony material, let it heal then get an implant for a new tooth. The purpose was to create a new firmer jaw area to be able to drill down into for the implant.

The bony material might not take. Then a piece of my hip bone would be needed to create a false jaw.

Egad! That was too much to contemplate. Surgery, hospitals, scars.

Option Two, she would pull the tooth. In the hole left by the vacated tooth, she would stitch in some bony material, let it heal, then crown the two teeth next to the molar and extend a bridged tooth over the void.

As the two teeth have huge fillings in them and would require crowns in the near future anyhow, Option Two sounded best.

On Wednesday I went in and had my tooth pulled. With (what felt like 30) shots of novacain, the crown was removed and the tooth was pulled. I woke up the following morning with no pain other than injection sites.

45 years old, and it’s my first fracture, and my first stitch.

The good news is that the post op instructions say I get to eat all the well done pasta I want.

This entry was posted in The World According to Me. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Little By Little

  1. sandrar says:

    Hi! I was surfing and found your blog post… nice! I love your blog. 🙂 Cheers! Sandra. R.

Leave a Reply

