Rough Crowd!

stock-returns-2007-for-blog.doc

Jet Blue had the second biggest drop in my portfolio this month, dropping over 10 points. Talk about a tough crowd! After the CEO David Neeleman apologized to customer stranded over the holiday weekend, investors sold off.

No wonder why CEOs and politicians do not apologize! What is the point? I wrote a letter to Jet Blue, and explained that as a customer AND a stockholder, I was behind them all the way. My only complaint? They do not fly to Europe. At least this airline apologized to its customers!

My other big drop was with Flamel Technologies. They are so volatile I do not even pay attention.

USANA went big, up almost 15 points. Probably from the refill in products I needed last month. Garmin is up almost 13 points. Not bad, considering I still haven’t purchased anything from them yet!

Blackboard and McAfee are out of the negative. Hopefully both will stay to the right side of the zero!

This entry was posted in A Fool and her Money and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Rough Crowd!

  1. Ant says:

    Garmin should do well, as should the company behind vonage.

    Drop netflix if you have them. blockbuster has an edge now with their return to the store policy, netflix has halved their price now…

  2. Mikki says:

    Garmin has been doing well as long as I have owned it. Their foray into the automobile and personal markets made them more visible. Before that, they were the leader in Aircraft and Seacraft navigation.

    Cisco (the company behind Vonage) is good, but I don’t need any more stocks. But feel free to buy into them.

    Blockbuster has tried several times to up end Netflix. Neither one are going to do well when download-able movies via yahoo or aol are offered, unless they get into it. Netflix has already started offering it.

  3. Jay says:

    Even if Cisco is behind Vonage, Vonage may be biting it soon, depending on how litigation goes.
    http://arstechnica.com/news.ars/post/20070220-8884.html

    As the article above states, Vonage has never been in the black, which concerns me, as a Vonage customer.

  4. Mikki says:

    I have AT&T as my VOIP provider. I went with AT&T when I read that Vonage would need to use AT&T lines anyhow.

  5. Jay says:

    yeah, Vonage is just a piggy back service; it has to use everyone’s lines. Since I got Verizon FiOS service, I’ve thought about moving to their VOIP service, but I haven’t bothered doing anything about it 🙂

  6. Mikki says:

    And wouldn’t ya know, I come home from work and my VOIP d-link gateway isn’t working!

Leave a Reply

