Childhood Memories

I went for a visit to my neighbor’s house one day. On their counter were cookies. I thought they were Oreo Cookies, but they were Trader Joe imitations.

I ate one anyhow.

On my next grocery-shopping spree, I bought the real thing. A kid will eat the middle of an Oreo first, and save the chocolate cookie outsides for last.

Apparently, so will I.

I ate the whole bag. I did not share. I did not even stop to have milk! I ate them the way I did when I was a kid. I ate the middle first, then the cookie outsides. Those were the instructions in the jingle. I am a stickler for directions.

I would grab the cookie outsides firmly in each hand, and then give a gentle twist. It is important to get all the white cream on one side. It does not taste the same when the cream is separated during the twist.

I would lick the intact cream center off the one side it remained on. The other denuded cookie was clenched in my fist waiting for the “last”.

I paced myself. I would only eat two cookies at a time. Of course, “at a time” was anytime I walked by the bag containing the cookies.

In two weeks time, the bag was empty.

I purchased another.

This entry was posted in The World According to Me. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Childhood Memories

  1. Jay says:

    My favorite method is to get a glass of milk and drop the cookie in. It’ll float to the top, so after a minute or so (if I could wait that long), I’d use a fork to flip it over. After a little longer, I’d fish it out with the fork and eat it. Somewhat soft, a little crunchy still on the inside, and all sweet and gooey and very milky.

    Okay, now I’m hungry.

  2. zia "g" says:

    mikki you brought back memories.
    I recall when you, Johna, Joey, Susan used to do this after a swim in your mom ‘s pool when we use to have a gathering for some occasion.

  3. Johna says:

    Liar, Liar, pants on fire! You used to be the kid who ate the middle of the oreo first and gave the empty, yukky, licked chocolate cookie oustides to your SISTER. – Remember sitting in the old recliner on Saturday morning before mom and dad got up with the Mrs. Butterworth cookie jar between us watching cartoons? They caught us one day when I didn’t finish the chocolate cookies and stuck them back together and into the jar . . . .

  4. Mikki says:

    Being the elder sibling has its advantages. Besides, I was sharing…

Leave a Reply

