EXP 03/2006

When I grabbed the tube of toothpaste for part of my evening grooming practices, I noticed some print on the end of the tube.

Exp 03/2006.

I have several tubes of toothpaste. I buy them all the time. I have a tube in my travel bag, a tube in my gym bag, and two tubes in my bathroom. Sometimes I buy a new tube for the adventure of a new flavor. I also receive them free, at the dentist. I bought a new tube when I was stranded in London. I have a lot of toothpaste.

Who knew toothpaste expired? Does an expired tube spoil? Does an expired tube cause cavities? Does an expired tube lose its flavor? What disaster have I unwittingly visited on my teeth? More importantly, ARE MY TEETH GOING TO FALL OUT?

What is an inquiring mind to do? Why, Google it, of course!

According to the Massachusetts Dental Association, my teeth and I are okay; for a while. It seems that the addition of fluoride in toothpaste requires approval from the US Food and Drug Administration. The USFDA requires an expiration date, even though fluoride does not expire. Nor does any of the other elements making up toothpaste.

The Massachusetts Dental Association does say that flavoring and consistence might change after the expiration date, but the toothpaste is not dangerous, or harmful. But MDA does not recommend using the paste if it is more than a year and a half past its expiration date.

Still, I think it is time to clean house. Who needs so many tubes of tooth paste?

This entry was posted in The World According to Me. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to EXP 03/2006

  1. Clifford says:

    I have never heard of such a thing. Now I’m curious as to how many months my toothpaste has expired? What about those 3 packs of toothpaste? I can’t be expected to go through 3 tubes in a super short period of time!

  2. Mikki says:

    It seems the “default” length of time is two years before expiration. If you buy a toothbrush with 2 inches of bristles, then fill it up with tooth paste after each meal, you should be going through toothpaste like water!

Leave a Reply

