There Is No Place Like Home

I started remodeling my home in 2001. My house was built in 1928 and I am sure that there were minor, or no, repairs done in the ensuing 73 years.

My major complaint with the house was its inadequacies in heating, insulation, wiring and plumbing. Other than that, the house was great. 🙂

I began my project by ripping out all the lath and plaster from the walls and ceilings of every room. The walls had no insulation at all, and the ceilings had layer of blown in insulation that was mashed down to less than 3 inches by the accumulation of dirt and dust on it.

With nothing but the studs in my way, I replaced the windows, rewired the electrical, installed new telephone, cable, smoke detector and speaker wire in all the rooms, replaced the galvanized plumbing with copper, insulated the walls and ceilings and hung drywall. I had professionals install central heat and a new service panel.

I accomplished all that by 2002.

Not much has happened since then. Oh sure, I painted a room here and there, even installed a claw foot tub in the bathroom, but there is still so much to do. There are three bedrooms, one bathroom, one dining room/living room combination, and a kitchen. All are in various stages of completeness.

I came to the conclusion while vacationing in Italy that I really do not want to move there. I decided that I like the USA, I like my state, and I like my house. I would love my house more if it were no longer a construction zone.

The three bedrooms are the closest to being finished. I need to install the baseboards and door & window trim, paint and hang a few doors, maybe sand a floor or two. The kitchen is probably the least finished. In the kitchen, there are still pieces of drywall to hang and a floor to be laid.

I decided NOT to do the kitchen at this time. Instead, I decided to attempt finishing the bathroom. Only ½ the bathroom, though. I still need to disassemble the tub to finish the wall behind it. I also need to correct some of the plumbing under the house. I was not in the mood to climb under the house just yet.

Like all my projects, finishing of the bathroom became a necessity and the point of the pyramid when I bought a new shelf to put all my shower stuff. Before I could hang the shelf, I had to paint. I could not paint until I patched and repaired the walls. With everything out of the room for the painting process, why not trim out the window, door and baseboards, too?

I started by patching and repairing all the holes I put into my walls throughout the years. Not holes caused by violence, mind you, but holes from other shelving units bought and discarded, curtain rod philosophies for a clawfoot tub that did not work, and a varying arrangement of wall hangings until I got it right.

I like the towels, floor mat and curtain colors I already have. I could not see picking another color then having to change all the accessories too, so I bought a color that was in the same tone as the color already on the walls, but a shade or two darker.

When the patches had dried, I painted the walls. Christopher Lowell says that the ceiling should be treated as the fifth wall, so the ceiling color was a shade or two darker than the walls. Previously, the ceiling had been white. That got painted also.

When the paint was drying, I measured and cut the trim for the window, door and baseboards. After dryfitting the baseboards, I took all the pieces outside and painted them, along with the bathroom door.

I installed my woodwork, hung my shelf, and other assorted wall art, and voila!

Another room almost done.

windowbefore.JPG windowafter.JPG doorbefore.JPG doorafter.jpg wallartafter.JPG sinkafter.jpg tubafter.jpg

 

This entry was posted in On the Home Front. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to There Is No Place Like Home

  1. Johna says:

    Wonderful old-world bathroom – gotta love the Maxine soap dispenser . . .

Leave a Reply

