A Country of Ruins

Talk about ancient history!

When I bought my house in California, they realtor told me it was in a historic district. I laughed, telling her that a house that was built in 1928 is just old, not historic. Houses in my neighborhood in Connecticut were 300 plus years old.

This week I spent my time traveling to the temples dotting the Sicilian landscape. One, in Segesta was built 2500 years ago! Others in the Valley of Temples in Agrigento were built around the same time.

The temple in Segesta is perfectly preserved. It sits on a hilltop over looking a valley of farmland. Nearby is another theater, carved into the hillside. It is still in use today for the presentation of modern and classical plays.

As I climbed the stairs leading to the temple, I could only imagine how many centuries of feet passed along the same trail on their way to worship.

I was amazed they let us walk throughout the ruins, until I realized a millennia or two of people traipsing through did not do much damage.

 

mergedtemple.jpg

mergedscenery.jpg

I tried something new. I took two or three photos and stitched them together with some fancy schmancy software package I have. Nice results, eh? Hardly any distortion! The second picture is the view from the temple in Segesta.


The temples and city of Agrigento suffered destruction from conquering Carthaginians, Romans, and even from Allied bombing during WWII.

The city itself has been rebuilt and reminds me (in looks only) of Co-op City in New York. The rebuilding of Agrigento highlights the area’s main “crop”–the cement factories in the area.

Nestled high on a hilltop, their view not only includes the Valley of the Temples, but a beautiful view of the Mediterranean Sea.

 

templeconcord.JPG

templejuno.JPG

templezeus.JPG

The temples in Agrigento. The top one is (obviously) being restored. All the temples are listed on the World Historic Sites list.

 

agrigentoview.JPG

The view from the city of Agrigento

 

agrigentocity.JPG

The city of Agrigento

This entry was posted in Italy. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

