At Last, a Response

I was a little disappointed that I had not received a response from my newly discovered cousin, Claudio, in Sicily. The reasons why there was no response could have been one of many.

He never received my initial note.

He wasn’t intereted in conversing with an unknown person, relative or not.

His response was lost in the mail.

My Italian was so bad he didn’t know what to say.

I can go on, but I’m sure you get the point. I wanted to write again, but didn’t want to make a pest of myself. I also didn’t want to face the possibility that he was not as excited as I to discover new family.

I decided to take the coward’s way out, and asked my contact in Italy, Giovanni, if he would mind calling my cousin again. Which he graciously agreed to do.

Giovanni called my cousin and discovered that my initial letter was received and that my cousin was excited to hear from his Cugina Americana. But before he could reply to my note, the envelope with my return address was thrown out! He also misplaced Giovanni’s phone number.

The email I got back from Giovanni was good news indeed! In the letter, I now had Ivana’s email (Claudio’s sister), and both of their home phones and cell phone numbers.

I wrote to Ivana via email more or less the same note I sent to her brother. And received a response and a picture!

She is 48, married with two children, and works in the banking industry. Her son, Georgio is 24 and also works in banking. Her daughter, Rafaella is 21 and goes to a university in Bologna.

Claudio has a 12 year old daughter, Federica, and they live on a farm with lots of animals!

I need to brush up on my Italian. Well, it’s more like I need to relearn my Italian!

This entry was posted in Italy. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

