Floccinaucinihilipilification

My cousin sent me a word the other day…

Floccinaucinihilipilification (FLOK-si-NO-si-NY-HIL-i-PIL-i-fi-KAY-shuhn) noun

Estimating something as worthless

I’m not sure it’s a word. I can find it on Google, but not in any dictionary that I own. Even my snob dictionary.

I think words that consist of the shoving together of 4 Latin synonyms should not be considered a word.

Especially if one definition is used idiomatically.

Especially if a college student in England was the shover of the words.

Especially if used by Jesse Helms to deem bans on all nuclear explosions in all environments, for military or civilian purposes as trifle or worthless.

Besides, nothing can top Supercalifragilisticexpialidocious.

This entry was posted in Words to Learn. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

