Remember the Alamo!

I called my mom when I was bored out of my mind serving jury duty. Actually, I called my sister but she was otherwise occupied. So I chatted with my mom. I was telling her that the more I read the information obtained from my contact in Italy regarding our family tree, the more convinced I was that this is the real deal. She is not as convinced because she remembers the information differently.

Not that she remembers much.

I told her that despite my contact’s best efforts he was unable to find a brother Enrico. She said that her father didn’t have a brother Enrico. Her mother did.

Well, I got the name Enrico from somewhere! “Somewhere” was an email I requested from my mother detailing as much information as she could remember. She listed the three siblings of her father’s that she knew of, the church her grandparents married in, and that my grandfather was raised on a farm with horses.

My contact said that three of the brothers married and died in Ragusa. He feels that there is a possibility that members of my family are still there in Ragusa, and has offered to contact them for me. (It is better to be introduced than to barge in. Italians get a little nervous when people come asking questions!)

If they are willing (and able) to converse, I’d love to chat with them and find out the family history as they know it.

Because I’m not convinced the people on this continent remember the facts.

I’ve also initiated the next phase, which is to take all my legal (American) documents and have them made more legal. This involves sending all official records (American birth certificates and naturalization papers) to the Secretary of the State and having them attach an “apostille”. An apostille is an official government document claiming that the other official document is actually an official document.

Officially, an apostille is referred to as the legalization of a document for international use under the terms of the 1961 Hague Convention Abolishing the Requirement for Legalisation for Foreign Public Documents. Documents which have been notarized by a notary public, and certain other documents, and then certified with a conformant apostille are accepted for legal use in all the nations that have signed the Hague Convention.

I think it’s just another request for money.

This entry was posted in Jure Sanguinis and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Remember the Alamo!

  1. Pingback: Foiled Again « Life without Limits

Leave a Reply

