Out of This World

In the latter part of 2005, I went back home to celebrate with friends our 5 year high school reunion — 5 years since the last reunion. The more reunions I go to the more I feel like I’m just having “dinner” with friends. Email, internet, chat rooms, even blogs have allowed us to keep in touch. We don’t have to play the “So, what have you been doing for the last 20 years?” game. I, for one, am grateful.

After returning to the present, I decided to keep a bit of the past going and added Channel 7 – Decades, The 70’s to a preset on my XM dial. They often play blocks of music from one year at a time. Occasionally, they’ll play the year that I know ALL the words, to ALL the songs. I’m not too fond of the music from the back half of the decade, as it’s too close to DISCO. Ick.

I bought a portable XM gadget that allows me to take my music to work. Most of the time, the music keeps me from getting bored. When you work alone and there is no one around to talk to, listening to music helps.

Today’s most memorable songs were The Streak by Ray Stevens

Ethel, is that you, Ethel?
What do you think you’re doing?
You get your clothes on!

Ethel, where you going?
Ethel, you shameless hussy
Say it isn’t so Ethel
Ethel………………

and Brand New Key by Melanie Safka

Well, I got a brand new pair of roller skates
You got a brand new key
I think that we should get together and try them out you see
I been looking around awhile
You got something for me
Oh! I got a brand new pair of roller skates
You got a brand new key

This entry was posted in Una Giornata di Lavoro. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

