Why Ask Why? Well, Why Not!

I heard this song back in my very early twenties (ya know, like LAST YEAR?)

It could be that the idea was all ready inside me, or that I was young and impressionable or the power of the voice that sang it moved me. All I know is that what ever the cause, these lyrics and this song became the underlying foundation that I now build my life on.

Tell me where, where is it written what is it I meant to be?
That I can’t dare…

It all began the day I found that from my window I could only see
A piece of sky.

I stepped outside and looked around.
I never dreamed it was so wide or even half as high.

The time had come to try my wings.
And even though it seemed at any moment I could fall, I felt the most amazing things.
The things you can’t imagine if you’ve never flown at all.

Though it’s safer to stay on the ground, sometimes where danger lies, there, the sweetest of pleasures are found.

No matter where I go there’ll be memories that tug at my sleeve.
But there will also be more to question, yet more to believe…

The more I live – the more I learn.
The more I learn – the more I realize the less I know.

Each step I take –
Each page I turn –
Each mile I travel only means the more I have to go.

What’s wrong with wanting more?
If you can fly – then soar!
With all there is – why settle for just a piece of sky?

(Lyrics by Alan Bergman)

This entry was posted in Words to Live By. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

