Words

I have an obsession with reference books. Besides the online versions, I own several dictionaries, thesauri, grammar how-to’s. Sometimes I even use them. One of my favorite additions to this collection is one titled “The Highly Selective Dictionary for the Extraordinarily Literate.” On snob appeal alone I had to buy it. Of course, I also bought the sister addition, “The Highly Selective Thesaurus for the Extraordinarily Literate.”

From the introduction-

One of the happiest features of possessing a capacious vocabulary is the opportunity to insult your enemies with impunity. While the maddening crowd gets mad with exhausted epithets such as “You rotten pig” and “You dirty bum”, you can acerbate, deprecate, derogate and can brand him or her a grandiloquent popinjay, venal pettifogger, nefarious miscreant…or irascible curmudgeon.

Count me in.

I’m going to post regularly from this book. We can improve together. It’s no fun insulting the enemy alone.

This entry was posted in Words to Learn. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

